Barbara Hanes Memorial Award

The Barbara Hanes Memorial Award was established in honour of her work as an Occupational Therapy Director at the Arthritis Society, Ontario Division, and her contributions as a teacher and a contributing author to the rheumatology textbook Physical Therapy in Arthritis. This award recognizes the best scientific abstract submitted by an occupational therapist.


2022 Barbara Hanes Memorial Award

Karine Toupin-April, PhD

The recipient of the 2022 AHPA Barbara Hanes Memorial Award is Karine Toupin-April, PhD for her abstract entitled Acceptability and Usability of the JIA Option Map, a Web-Based Patient Decision Aid for Pain Management in Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis. Dr. Toupin-April is an Associate Professor in the School of Rehabilitation Sciences and with the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Ottawa and is affiliated with the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute. Her research in pediatric and adult rheumatology includes developing PROMs, clinical practice guidelines, patient decision support interventions and self-management tools.

View Past Award Winners

Carolyn Thomas Award

The Carolyn Thomas Award was established in honour of Carolyn Thomas, a founding member of AHPA who supported research. It is given to the first author of the year’s best scientific abstract.  The recipient of this award will also be presented with an opportunity to present their work as a Plenary presentation at the annual Canadian Rheumatology Association-Arthritis Health Professions Association Annual Scientific Meeting.

2022 Carolyn Thomas Award

Susan Bartlett

The recipient of the 2022 AHPA Carolyn Thomas Award is Susan Bartlett PhD for her work entitled Riding Multiple Waves of Uncertainty: The Impact of COVID-19 on RA Patients in the Canadian Early Arthritis Cohort (CATCH). Dr. Bartlett is a clinical psychologist and Professor of Medicine at McGill University in the Divisions of Clinical Epidemiology, Rheumatology, and Respiratory Medicine. She is co-founder of the McGill Centre for Health Measurement, a senior researcher with the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre, Arthritis Research Canada, and the Canadian Early Arthritis Cohort. Her research focuses on patient-centred research, measurement development, treatment adherence, and psychosocial factors that impact treatment outcomes. She is Chair of the AHPA Research Committee, the Association of Rheumatology Professionals Board, the NIH PROMIS Board of Directors.

View Past Award Winners

Trainee Abstract Award

The Trainee Abstract Award was established to recognize research being done by allied health in summer studentships, graduate programs or post-doctoral fellowships. This award is given for the best scientific abstract submitted by a trainee. 


2022 Best Trainee Abstract Award

Viviane Ta 

The recipient of the 2022 AHPA Trainee Award is Viviane Ta for her abstract entitled Beliefs and Concerns about RA Medications May Predict Influenza Vaccine Hesitancy: Results from the Canadian Early Arthritis Cohort (CATCH). Viviane is a PhD student in the Counselling Psychology program at McGill University. Her current research examines associations between medication beliefs, vaccination coverage, and treatment outcomes in early rheumatoid arthritis. She is passionate about improving the quality of life of adults with RA. Viviane is a member of the Arthritis Health Professions Association, and an Arthritis Research Canada and CATCH (Canadian Early Arthritis Cohort) trainee. 

View Past Award Winners