AHPA members who have undertaken, within the past 5 years, a clinical project or related initiative with relevance to the field of rheumatology. Projects should be beyond the concept or proposal stage.  Applications must include early/initial or final results, in the form of process and/or outcome measures/data, to show the impact of their initiative on the target group. Recipients may only receive the award once.

Governing Committee: 
Applications meeting the basic criteria will be reviewed by a committee with the following representatives: the AHPA Professional and Career Development Chair, the AHPA President, a person living with arthritis and a rheumatologist. 

The applicant should submit the following Application that requests project summary information, including the project title, key words, aim or purpose, target audience, overview of initiative or project, and any evaluation results. The project summary should be single spaced using 12-point font and 1-inch margins and be 250 words or less. You may use ONE diagram/flowchart/visual to support your application.   

Please forward your submission to: professionaldevelopment@ahpa.ca

Deadline for Applications:
December every year

This award is given out at the AHPA Annual General Meeting.

The successful candidate will also be required to present their clinical innovation at the AHPA Clinical Innovation Workshop at the Canadian Rheumatology Association Annual Scientific Meeting the following year. 



2022 Clinical Innovation Award Winner

Julie Herrington 

For her projected entitled: “ACPAC therapist virtual coaching of Young Adults as they transition into Adult Rheumatology Care; an adaptation of care due to the Covid-19 Pandemic."

Julie Herrington is an ACPAC trained physiotherapist working with the Pediatric and Young Adult Rheumatology teams at McMaster Hospital in Hamilton, Ontario.  The team environment at this center has created opportunities for her to innovate and develop programs that support adolescents and young adults during their health care transition.  

View Past Award Winners